St James Catholic

Primary School

In the loving peace, justice and joy of Jesus, we achieve.

Meet the School Standards Committee Representatives


The role of the School Standards Committee

Recent legislation has widened the responsibilities of school governors, but broadly governing bodies oversee the work of the school and make sure it provides a good quality education for its pupils.


Working in partnership with the Principal and other staff, governors are involved in:


  • setting the school's aims and policies;
  • improving standards of teaching and achievement;
  • setting the school's budget plan and monitoring expenditure;
  • interviewing and appointing teachers and support staff;
  • acting as a link between the local community and the school;
  • dealing with complaints about the school;
  • drawing up an action plan after an inspection, and monitoring the success of the plan


Canon David Evans (Chair)

Mr Patrick Doyle (Vice Chair)

Miss Ellen McCann

Mrs Michelle Shipman

Mrs Louise Bodlovic

Mrs Carmel Stanley



30/04/2015 - 29/04/2019

30/04/2015 - 29/04/2019

12/04/2016 - 11/04/2020

30/04/2015 - 29/04/2019

20/06/2016 - 19/06/2020

30/04/2015 - 29/04/2019


Staff Director Representative:


Mrs Louise Dore


Elected Parent:


Mrs Lisa Brennan


06/02/2017 - 05/02/2021


Mrs Angela Backen


Elected Staff:


Mr Roger Bilington

Mrs Louise Dore



30/04/2015 - 29/04/2019

30/04/2015 - 29/04/2019

Clerk to the School Standards Committee:

Mrs L Forrester


Address of the School Standards Committee chair:

Canon David Evans

Our Lady of Perpetual Succour

Leach Green Lane



B45 9BQ